Sierra Nevada “Pale Ale”

Posted: April 8, 2011 in Pale Ale

Being from the northwest I am just as anti-california as anybody else.  I do have to defend their state a little bit.  The wine is great, the parks are beautiful, there are fun cities with awesome music, and the beer is good.  My personal favorite is Sierra Nevada.  This is my standby beer,  the one I get if I can’t make a decision on anything else.  They craft their beer with no added ingredients, so it is just grains, hops, yeast, and water, no preservatives or additives of any kind.  They also bottle condition their beer which if you don’t know is the process of adding a very small amount of yeast to naturally carbonate the beer instead of injecting with CO2 while bottling.  I just think the final product is much superior.  Their Pale Ale is not an IPA, but it has a very strong, complex hop note anyway.  I think that this beer has a lot going on without trying to do to much.  All the parts are there.  It has a good taste, strong hop flavor, good drinkability, and nice aftertaste.  I will always recommend this particular ale.

Comments
  1. Lars says:

    I’m not a big fan of IPA’s, but I also think of Sierra Nevada as a standby beer brewer. Just for their spring bock Glissade, autumn brown Tumbler, and winter Celebration. My favorite California brewer at the moment is . You should check their offerings out if you can. Some good saisons and Belgian-styles.

Leave a Reply

