Widmer Brothers “the Original Drifter Pale Ale”

Posted: April 13, 2011 in Pale Ale

I am a fan of Widmer Brothers.  This particular Pale Ale is good.  It has a nice strong hop flavor, is pretty dry, and light.  Drifter is made with citrus so it has flavors of orange, and lemon to compliment the bitterness.  As to drinkability, I don’t to much care for many of them.  The aftertaste doesn’t settle well with me.  I think this is a great beer to try, or maybe have at a nice outside pub on a warm day.  For me, I don’t think I will get it again very soon.  I think everybody should make their own opinion, and that is the fun of it just trying new things.  In closing I would say this is a good beer, but I wouldn’t have a lot of them.

I just just got another six pack the other day and my appreciation for the Drifter has grown.  I almost didn’t recognize it due to the new label.  I’m hoping it is a regular beer now instead of a seasonal.  It is a very good pale ale, I hope it stays around.

 

Comments
  1. Lars says:

    I like the situational advice “nice outside pub on a warm day.” because I often choose my beer based on such aspects, i.e. time of year/weather, the food I want to eat with it, how rare the opportunity is of drinking that beer (especially at festivals choosing between one brewery’s one-off and another’s regular staple). For me the quintessential “nice outside pub on a warm day” beer is a good beer that wouldn’t have a lot of, so I’ll have to check this one out if the situation arises. Others I think would fit in this category are Pelican Brewery’s (although you’d have to be in Pacific City, OR to find it) or MacTarnahan’s Brewing’s . Speaking of these types of warm weather beers, I would imagine Kona would have a few. thoughts?

    • 48degrees says:

      Kona has a few. Notable is their Longboard Lager. I think it is a little sweet, but they indented to do it that way. It is a very good lighter beer for a nice Hawaii afternoon. The Island breweries are good for just that, and for adding a little tropical flare. If you ever get the chance try the Maui Brewing Company “Coconut Porter”, that is one of the finer beers I have had. I’ll do a post about it later, but it is sooooooo tasty.

Leave a Reply

