Mendocino Brewing Company ” Eye of the Hawk Select Ale”

Posted: July 23, 2011 in Ale

“You can’t judge a book by it’s cover” I’m sure we have all heard that one.  I have been seeing this beer for a while but never tried it.  I think the label looks stupid.  I didn’t give it another look.  One day I finally picked up a six pack and read the label.  It sounded promising.  Mendocino was founded in 1983 by some home brewers in the aptly named town of Hopland California but operates now in Ukih.  All of their beers are named after birds, thus the stupid label.  As a beer is is very unique.  There isn’t really a defining flavor, just a good balance overall.  There is this flavor that I couldn’t really place until I saw the 8% ABV.  As a beer it is pretty good, it could use more hops but not bad.  It is not a bad one to try, but I don’t think I will get it again.  I will try some more of theirs.  I guess the lesson I learned is look past the label, sometimes good things look bad.

Leave a comment